top of page

Little League History

Little League® is an international volunteer organization offering baseball all over the world for over 75 years. Since its founding in 1939 by Carl Stotz, Little League has instilled leadership, character, courage and loyalty in all that participate, including the nearly 1.5 million adult volunteers. Little League can be found in more than 80 countries worldwide with more than 2.4 million children participating each year.

State of Ohio Championships
1963- Painesville Little League State Champions
1982- Little League State Championship Painesville Nationals
1983- Little League State Championship Painesville Nationals

1988- Junior League State Championship Painesville Nationals
1989- Senior League State Championship Painesville Americans
1990- Senior League State Championship Painesville Nationals

Recent Accomplishments
2005- Painesville Little League won Safest League in Central Region

2006- Painesville Little League won National Safety Award and aquired lighting for Calhoun Field (Diamond #8)  Lighting system was installed under the direction of President Chuck Asbury and many volunteers.  Painesville Kiwanis Recreation Park suffered damage from major flood of the Grand River.

2011- Painesville Area Little League added Challenger Division baseball offering boys and girls with  physical and mental disabilities the opportunity to play organized baseball. 

2012- Diamond #6 at Painesville Kiwanis Recreation Park was made wheelchair- friendly by the help of many generous donations and volunteer hours.


League Presidents:

Mr. Roy F. George     1952-1954

Mr. Earl Homsher       1955

Mr. Thane Johnson    1955

Mr. Robert Fuhrman   1956-1959

Mr. Donald Rippin       1959

Mr. Robert Thomas    1960-1962

Mr. Edward White      1963-1965

Mr. Walter Davis        1965-1966

Mr. Al Mohner             1967-1968

Mr. Walter Davis        1969

Mr. John Wiles           1970-1972

Mr. McMillen               1972-1974

Mr. Geoffrey Kent       1975-1977

Mr. William J. Calhoun 1978-1980

Mr. John Heredeen     1980-1982

Mr. Jim D’Amico         1982-1985

Mr. C. Richard Johnson 1986-1987

Mr. Jim Pillar              1987-1988

Mr. Geoffrey Kent       1989-1990

Mr. Walter Kohler      1991

Mr. Guy Dalton III       1992

Mr. Robert Gillooly     1993-1996

Mr. Geoffrey Kent       1996-2000

Mr. Charles E. Asbury 2000 to present

bottom of page